Sugar Mountain operates under a council - manager form of government. The village council consists of the mayor and four (4) council members who appoint the village attorney, clerk, and manger.  The manager is responsible for hiring and firing all village personnel and day-to-day administration of the village. Elections for the mayor and council members are held each November as their four-(4)-year terms expire. The elections are non-partisan. The council is assisted by a planning committee and a zoning board of adjustment.